Pumpkins because October is splendid

So… a lot happened in the space of time that I haven’t been blogging. My favorite of these things would definitely have to be the Punkin’ Partee at my parents house. (please excuse the excessive amount of pictures to follow)

ryan attempting to carve darth vader Ryan trying to carve Darth Vader. (It didn’t work very well.)

i look funny in this picture I look funny in this picture. My pumpkin has geese 🙂

katie proudly displays her creation Katie was very proud of her pumpkin. (And VERY possessive.)

they look so pretty all lit up!
The pretty, lit-up pumpkins!

Here is an example of what has been keeping me from blogging (besides family fun and housework): school. This is a project that has taken up quite a bit of time in the last few weeks. It’s a relief sculpture of snakes that I made in red clay. It’s now waiting to become bone dry so I can put it in the kiln.

snakesculpture-small.jpg

I have been doing a lot of ceramic work at school lately, but unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately) I haven’t taken any pictures of it.

I have actually been knitting a lot, though not on the things that I was *supposed* to (socks and mittens, curse you!). I followed the urge to knit a sweater for my baby sister, Katie (pictured above with her precious pumpkin). The sweater is very close to being done, I just need to add the hood and finish a sleeve and a half. The pattern is Lion Brand’s “Hooded, Knitted Sweater” and since I’ve been using the called-for bulky weight yarn, it has been a very quick knit, indeed. I got past the bust shaping on Wicked and I still love it.

If all goes well, you’ll be seeing some pictures of both projects very soon. (I felt like you guys might be about picture-d out for now.) Happy knitting, all!

Oh, one more thing: if you desire more photographic content, you can check out my Picasa web album.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in art, school. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

