Marine socks yay!

I finished another pair of socks in (for me) record time: 2 weeks, 1 per sock. Considering how I started my first pair of fingering weight socks in August and didn’t finish until December, I’d say that’s quite an improvement. The yarn is Fleece Artist Nova Socks in the colorway “marine” and they are sooo soft and comfy. The pattern is a blend of Wendy’s Feather and Fan Socks and my own 68 stitch standard toe-up sock pattern. I heard from several people that the feather and fan cuff isn’t as stretchy as a plain stockinette or ribbed cuff, so I added four stitches when I began the cuff and went up half a needle size. (another good reason for adding four stitches was that I needed 72 stitches to do the feather and fan pattern properly. handy how that worked out.) I didn’t do any kind of fancy bind off, I just bound off in 1×1 ribbing and it seems fine. It was scary, though, because it seems like almost everyone else has such a hard time with really tight bind offs…

marine-small.jpg

yarn.jpg

I’m embarrassed at how long it’s taking me to finish the magenta and black socks. The first sock took less than a week. The second sock was moving along until I lost the black yarn for the heel. So… the second sock is on hold at the heel until a)I find the yarn or b) my LYS gets more black fingering weight yarn in stock.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in FO's, holidays, knitting, socks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marine socks yay!

  1. Eliza says:

    wow. These are the kind of socks that make me think, “Oh, maybe I SHOULD knit socks!” I never have, but these are so pretty that I’m inspired. The feather and fan plus the stripes make them really gorgeous!

  2. Pingback: I love wool socks. | RENOVATA

Leave a Reply

