booties and socks

booties2-3-5-2008-5-10-47-pmsmall.jpg

These booties are for a very tiny little girl named Esther Catherine. She was born on Tuesday and weighed only a little more than five pounds! (I know that there are a lot of preemies smaller than that,  but she is not premature so that’s why the surprise.) I used a pattern called… Page 81 Booties? There’s got to be a better name than that, but that’s what the site says. The pattern says to knit six squares, three for each bootie, and sew two squares together for extra foot padding. I didn’t thank she was going to be walking in these, so I didn’t do the extra padding. I knit these with fingering weight yarn (Elann Esprit) and size 2 needles because I want them to fit her foot NOW. Hehe, I guess that means she’ll grow out of them in no time, but they are pretty cute so maybe her mom will keep them to put on a little shelf or something. (Or save them for the babies to come…?)

– – – – – – –

lollysocks-2-29-2008-small.jpg

These are the finished Mock Croc Socks. I modified them by making a short row heel instead of a gusset heel and by making a round toe instead of the grafted toe. I wish I could give a “cool” reason for doing this, but really it’s because I’m lazy. I hate picking up stitches and I hate grafting. Lolly really loves her socks. You might not be able to tell from the pictures, but the socks are filthy from wear. I don’t think they came off her feet for days.

I highly recommend the Mock Croc pattern and the yarn, Knit Picks Essential. The pattern is simple to memorize, reeeally stretchy, and pretty. The yarn is pretty durable, soft, and comes in a wide variety of colors. It was a tad splitty, but not enough to bother me.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in baby things, FO's, knitting, socks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

