Uncomplicated french press cozy (free pattern)

So… I “designed” a pattern for a french press cozy. If you’re like me and you take a long time to enjoy your coffee, you may find that the coffee tends to get cold pretty quickly. (No insulation!) This is my solution to the problem. I picked a really bright color that looks cheerful and probably won’t show stains very much. It’s just like the name says: uncomplicated. (As a matter of fact, it’s so uncomplicated that it’s practically not even a pattern.)

IMG_6827

Uncomplicated French Press Cozy (to fit a 6″ tall press with a 10″ diameter)

Ingredients:
Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky (or whatever bulky wool yarn you want.) The color I used is “Aztec Turquoise.”
Size 10.5 needles (6.5 mm)
Size N crochet hook (9 mm)
Gauge: 12 sitches=4″ in seed stitch
——
Cast on 19 sts, work in seed stitch (k1, p1 every row) for 10″. Bind off.
In each corner of the rectangle, chain 10 with size N hook. Find the center of the cast-on side and chain 10 there. Do the same on the bind-off side. (click here to see a picture if you’re confused)
Weave in the ends and you are ready to keep your coffee cozy! You could block it if you really want the crocheted chains to look nice, but I didn’t bother.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in FO's, free pattern, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Uncomplicated french press cozy (free pattern)

  1. This looks easy enough to make several so one is always clean.

    • lafried says:

      Is this for a 10” circumference or 10” diameter? My French press is neither, but closer to a 10” circumference (which it said on ravelry). Thanks! I look forward to making one of my own. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Yom Kippur productivity « Far Far Away

  3. Kristyn says:

    Is there a video on how to attach the chain to the ends. I’m not sure how to do this. Thanks

  4. Jane Moody says:

    Thank you. This was exactly what I was looking for and nice and quick to make x x

Leave a Reply

