christmas is over.

I feel like Christmas was here and gone too quickly this year. It might be that I feel this way because I have a lot on my mind. Baby Edda should be here anytime in the next two weeks and her coming has basically eclipsed any and everything else in my mind. Some updates:

I finished the nursery but I haven’t photographed it yet because every time I get it cleaned up something happens and all the mess from the rest of the house gets hidden back there. Grr.

I gave all the presents that I knitted. I think everyone liked them. (Actually, I’m pretty sure most people liked them a lot, which is excellent because I really spent a lot of time making them exactly the way people wanted them.) I managed to surprise my mom, which is always a big deal as she is very hard to surprise.
mom's socks

Mom’s socks (rav link) I loved this yarn, Zitron Lifestyle.

Ryan gave me a set of knit picks’ harmony straight needles (10″) for Christmas!  They combine the things I like about bamboo needles with the few things I like about metal needles to make a whole new kind of needle (at least, new to me).  I like bamboo needles because they are strong, flexible-ish, light, they don’t “clink” and they warm to your hands as you use them. I like the fact that they are “grabbier” than metal, but sometimes they grab too much.  Also the points are usually too blunt. The harmony needle have nice, pointy tips and they are much smoother! They are also pretty, but that’s just extra. Love, love, love.

Ryan also gave me a cute little espresso machine, which I also dearly love.  Ryan is a keeper.

——–

Some recently finished baby things:
brunhilde!
viking girl hat (ravelry link)

DSCF0014-3
a basic bib

Sorry if this post has been long and rambling… I felt like I had a lot to catch up on. I hope that all of you had a wonderful Christmas! I may or may not get around to updating before the baby gets here so… if you don’t hear from me in a month or so it’s probably because Her Majesty has arrived.

(of course, I intend to post before then, but you guys know my track record is not so great, hehe.)

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in baby things, christmas, FO's, holidays, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to christmas is over.

  1. Eliza says:

    I LOVE the socks! I had an idea to make socks for my mom about a week before Christmas, but I quickly realized that that would never happen…

    Are you totally excited for the arrival of your baby? I can’t wait to see photos and hear the details!

  2. sarah says:

    i love that viking hat!!!!!
    You have been very busy, young lady. I’m glad I have this link to your blog now because the other one has been down for a while. : (
    Sounds like you guys had a good Christmas. We did too, and I’m still adjusting to the fact that it is a new year. I know you are on pins and needles to have the little Crum!

    • Jessi says:

      Thanks! I forgot that a lot of people who are friends in “real life” don’t know about my blog. At first I didn’t tell anybody about it because I felt like people might think it was weird to have a knitting blog. We are extremely excited about baby Edda coming. Monday is my due date… I hope she comes soon.

  3. sarah says:

    Ok…sorry to comment twice… hehe..

    I saw your french press cozy and it made me laugh because I made a french press cozy too! I will have to post mine on my blog so you can see it. : )

Leave a Reply

