a little bunny

DSCF0027

I made one of these for my neighbor’s new baby, Gabi, and it was so cute that I had to make another for Edda. I used Hobby Lobby’s “Bamboospun” for both bunnies, which is not normally a yarn  I would use. I initially picked it because it was soft and machine washable but I didn’t expect to love it as much as I do. And I do love it. It is not at all “plasticy” like a lot of these fluffy yarns that are 100% acrylic and it has a lovely drape thanks to the bamboo. I’m considering making a sweater out of it for Edda to wear this fall/winter. The pattern is Lion Brand’s “Bunny Blanket Buddy” and there appear to be  several permutations of it on the  Lion Brand website. This is the one I used.

I made the head about 2” tall instead of the 3.5” the pattern calls for. For the face, I cut a roundish shape from white craft felt and embroidered the features on it and sewed that onto the head with white floss. I sewed a bell into a little, felt pouch and put that inside the head along with the stuffing to add an interesting sound when Edda shakes it. (I sewed it very securely, there’s no way in the world she’s getting it out and swallowing it.)

DSCF0030

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in baby things, Edda, FO's, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a little bunny

  1. Sarah says:

    I love this blanket. You should totally make a semi adult size one. : )

    It was nice seeing you the other day!

Leave a Reply

