Watergate Salad Recipe

I only had watergate salad (or “green stuff”) a few times as a kid, but I really liked it. It was a dish surrounded with mystique and wonderment. After a lot of searching, I think I found a recipe for the same salad I had as a kid. For some reason, I always get confused and have to think about wether it’s called “waldorf” or “watergate” salad! It’s watergate. Waldorf is different. A word of advice: don’t stir too much after adding the cool whip. It will become watergate soup, which is not so tasty.

Watergate Salad

  • 1 4 oz. package of instant pistachio pudding mix
  • 1 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple in juice (don’t drain)
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (you can use whatever you want, but I’m a southerner so pecans are my obvious choice.)
  • 1-3/4 cups cool whip, thawed
  • Put everything except cool whip into a large bowl and stir until well combined. Gently fold in the cool whip and chill one hour before serving.

    Simple yet delicious, and the directions are shorter than the ingredient list, which is always nice. Now I must make some.

    About Jessi

    I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
    This entry was posted in cooking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    