birthday sewing for my girl

sewing a baby doll dress

It’s hard to believe that I have to get out this much stuff to make a dress for a 12″ baby doll.

Edda’s birthday is on Saturday and I have decided to make her some clothes for her new baby doll that she got for Christmas. For those of you that would be interested in such things, the doll is a Corolle Calin (amazon link). My mom gave it to Edda, and it has been an instant favorite. I like that it smells sort of nice, has SHORT hair and a soft body. This means I don’t get interrupted every fifteen seconds to make the dolls rigid arms and legs bend into the right position (like the ones with hard bodies) and I don’t have to un-snarl giant, baby doll rat nests out of its hair (like the long-haired one I made). Edda likes it because it has a pretty dress and hair she can brush. (but not tangle. the no-tangling is very important.)

The sewing pattern is Mccall’s 4338. So far, so good….

I still haven’t finished writing up Walter’s birth story… I may not post it. I’m torn between trying to be honest (I hate it when people try to make it sound like birth should be painless, cuz it’s not) and trying not to sound whiney. Also, maybe it’s too embarrassing to share that kind of thing with the whole world… I’ll just have to think about it some more.

And, in closing, I want you all to know that this blog will not be turning into a blog that’s only about my kids and the occasional sewing project. I am still knitting. I hope it will make a blog appearance soon. (It’s a fawn-colored, bottom-up seamless yoke sweater for Walter from Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitting Without Tears. It’s also finished.)

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in baby things, Edda, mommy-ness, sewing, walter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

