Mom’s Christmas Scarf

I finished this scarf before Christmas… you know, because it was a Christmas gift for my mom. I think she really liked it! The pattern was really easy to memorize, even for a novice crocheter like me. (I’ve been crocheting for almost 17 years and just now learned to read patterns about a year ago.) The yarn was so neat; Araucania Ranco Solid. It didn’t pool at all, it just subtly changed colors a little here and there. Perfect.

IMG_0895

The pattern is “Isar Scarf” by Julia Vaconsin. (It’s a free ravelry download.) I left off the fringe called for because my mom is not really into fringe. The look of the scarf really changes a lot after blocking, as is usually the case with openwork-type things. Also, I would recommend using a larger hook than you might think you should, because when it’s worked tightly the scarf does not look lacy and nice at all. It just looks stiff and odd.

IMG_0924

I, of course, wanted to keep it for myself, but I gave it to my mom like a good daughter. Now she’d better wear it… haha.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in christmas, crochet, FO's. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom’s Christmas Scarf

  1. Matthew says:

    I am SURE she will wear it and love it.

Leave a Reply

