selbuvotter resurrected.

IMG_3704

Remember when I was making these? (NHM#7 from Terri Shea’s Selbuvotter: Biography of a Knitting Tradition)

It was waaaay back when….. no one was reading my blog at that time, so let me remind you. It was the summer of 2007. And somehow the method by which I was taught to knit had caused me to twist all my knit stitches. Somewhere about two-thirds of the way through the second mitten, I learned how to do my knit stitches properly. I was so  anguished over the fact that I had knit so much of these mittens the “wrong” way that I tossed them into a dark corner and left them.

I took the sad little mittens out recently, and I discovered that they don’t actually look that bad. In fact, they look nice! Maybe the fact that all the stitches are twisted make it look intentional. It’s fortunate that these are knit in the round so that we don’t have twisted knits and untwisted purls. That would not be nice.

Anyway, I’m finishing them now. It makes me happy to be finishing up these long-neglected mittens. It’s really nice to be suddenly all done with something cool like fancy mittens. I’m almost done with the body of the second mitten and then it’s on to thumbs!

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in mittens, selbu mittens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to selbuvotter resurrected.

  1. Mandy says:

    So… Are you twisting all the stitches as you finish them? That sounds like it would be tough to do… after years of finally knitting the right way. 🙂 They’re very pretty!

    • Jessi says:

      Yes, I’m still twisting them. It looked funny when I tried not doing it. It’s actually not that hard… maybe it’s like riding a bike; you never forget how to knit the wrong way. hm. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

