baby lizards!!!

You’ll have to excuse me for a few moments while I indulge my inner animal-lover/crazy seven-year-old. (Technically you won’t have to, but I hope that you will.)

I was digging away in my flowerbed this morning, planting petunias and dusty miller, when I accidentally dug up a lizard nest! A skink nest, to be precise. (skinks on wikipedia) There were five hatchling lizards and four eggs. The eggs started hatching soon after I found them. Sooooo cool! Edda was not really all that excited, but I sure was.

If Edda was a bit older, I would totally have launched into the whole “let’s make this a learning experience” homeschool project deal. I guess that will have to wait a few years.

baby lizards hatching
IMG_3771
IMG_3784

Edda showed polite interest, but not much more than that. Why yes, that is my camera lens cap down in the dirt. Don’t tell Ryan.

IMG_3788

Here we see the former location of the lizard nest. I am sad to have ruined it, but I couldn’t really put it back so…. petunias.

IMG_3797

Walter didn’t even show polite interest, but that is probably because Edda had just squirted him with the hose.

IMG_3819
IMG_3836

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in Edda, homeschooling, mommy-ness, walter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

