finally some knitting

I finally have some knitting to show you. I keep forgetting to photograph the knitting that I’ve been doing! (sorry about the grainy photos, it’s been very dim inside.)
IMG_3988

IMG_4007

IMG_4029

I have finally come up with a bib design that meets my rather picky requirements. In my opinion, a knitted bib must be:

  • garter stitch or some other thick stitch… not stockinette and definitely not lace (lace=holes and who wants holes in their bibs?)
  • dense but not stiff
  • easy to make because I don’t want to spend hours on something that’s intended to get nasty
  • long enough to cover the baby’s chest because short bibs just don’t cut it
  • cute, but not fussy… and nothing chunky appliqued to the front to get gunked up with food
  • tied (not buttoned) so as to be adjustable

This bib meets all of those requirements, so I will probably be making many of them. It seems that many people are concerned about putting ties on baby things, but I feel that if your baby is being supervised properly it is highly unlikely that he will strangle himself on his bib.

I am writing up a pattern for this bib that I hope to put up on my “free patterns” page today or tomorrow. It depends on how long my babies sleep for me this afternoon!

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in baby things, FO's, free pattern, knitting, mommy-ness, walter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to finally some knitting

  1. Sarah says:

    Love the bib! And wow, Walter is getting so big! What a sweet smile he has!

  2. Mandy says:

    Excellent!! I’m a far bigger fan of the adjustable tie than the hook and loop type fastenings. Finn seems to always have little red stripes on the back of his neck from where he pulls his bib off and gets scratched from the velcro. 😦 I think it’s a cute little bib and I love the design!

  3. Pingback: New free pattern! My perfect bib. « Crummy Knitting

Leave a Reply

