a diaper box “horsie barn”

I made a “horsie barn” for Edda out of another old diaper box. It was a huge hit, much like the diaper box dollhouse was in its day. (It’s getting a bit ragged these days.) I noticed that a lot of people have been arriving at my blog by using search terms like “what to do with an empty diaper box,” so I thought I would oblige them with another project.

It’s not very polished or fancy. Mostly because you have to hurry when you have a two-year-old helper that wants to play with her new horse barn ASAP. But you get the general idea.

Materials: diaper box, scissors, glue, tape, construction paper, black sharpie, yarn or string, darning needle (or any needle with a big, fat eye.)

IMG_4413

Cut off the flaps.

IMG_4421

Tape the short flaps in as seen in the photo and glue along the seams. (I put them against the edges of the box’s bottom flaps– now the back of the barn– to give a sort of ledge to help them stand up.) Stalls are created!

IMG_4424

IMG_4430

IMG_4431

Poke some holes in the side of the barn and the short edge of one long flap as seen in the picture. Make sure they line up.

IMG_4433

Use the darning needle to make some yarn or string “hinges.”

IMG_4435

et voila.

IMG_4437

Glue/tape on some construction paper “siding” and add details in sharpie marker.

IMG_4444

Let the glue dry (or not) and start filling your barn up with horsies and all their friends.

IMG_4463

The diaper box dollhouse was brought in as a second story of the barn.

IMG_4489

And much playing ensued.

IMG_4491

IMG_4499

IMG_4510

Happy times.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in crafts, Edda, kid crafts, mommy-ness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

