peaches to pie

South Carolina peaches are a wonderful thing. This post is a bit late, since I made the peach pie several weeks ago, but better late than never, right? Peaches are the best part of summer. I wish I had been able to can some like I wanted. Next year it is happening!

IMG_4713

IMG_4718

IMG_4725

Sorry, I forgot to snap a photo of the pie before we cut into it. Doesn’t the inside look yummy, though? I used my new favorite fruit pie ingredient, pictured below. King Arthur Flour’s instant clearjel powder. You substitute it for the flour in a fruit pie filling (Add a little less clearjel powder than you would flour) and it works much better. The fruit flavor really shines; no muddy, flour-y taste at all. Sometime I feel like fruit pie filling looks kind of like gravy… but not with this stuff. It’s sort of like a soft-set fruit jam that forms inside the pie. MMMMMM. I want more.

IMG_4736

I used King Arthur’s pie crust recipe, too, and it was AMAZING. Gosh, those people who work in the test kitchens at KAF really know what they are doing.

Our Favorite Pie Crust” recipe from King Arthur Flour.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

