walter’s new hat

IMG_5069

Sorry for the long absence. I have been trying to get some serious knitting done. The computer seems to hinder knitting in a big way, so I have been trying to limit the computing as much as possible. (Emphasis on “trying”… Pinterest, you will be my undoing!)

So, on to Walter’s hat. I unpacked all the winter/fall clothes this week and discovered that Walter did not have anything from last winter to fit him. This should not have been surprising, considering that he was just born in December and therefore he was very tiny last winter. Of course, I had to drop all the Christmas knitting projects and immediately cast on a little hat with earflaps. It’s from Susan B. Anderson’s Itty Bitty Hats. I used the “simple baby cap 2” pattern and knitted the 12 month size. I worked it flat in garter stitch for a while, then joined in the round and finished according to the directions, adding a little i-cord at the top and tying it in a little knot. And seaming the garter stitch portion. Then I added the earflaps according to the directions in the techniques section of the book. Obviously, those are worked in garter stitch as well. The yarn is Plymouth Jeannee, one of my favorite baby yarns. (It’s not a “baby” yarn, though. Just a yarn I like to make baby things out of… not that shiny, acrylic stuff.)

And now some gratuitous Walter photos. He just turned ten months old! I am in shock.

IMG_5065

IMG_5050

IMG_5057

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in baby things, FO's, mommy-ness, walter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to walter’s new hat

  1. Ruby says:

    So adorable! Is this hat really in IBH? I have that book and don’t recall this one. And you didn’t alter other than the flaps? Hmmm, I think I need to put down the ‘puter, too, and look this one up! Never tried that yarn, either…thanks for my next project! Mine is 6 mos old and I am in shock, too. They grow way too darn fast! I haven’t hardly had time to knit her any of the cute itty bitty baby stuff I wanted to!

  2. Jessi says:

    Thanks, Ruby! I’m glad you liked it.
    The pattern I used is from the very beginning of the book and I believe the pattern calls for a rolled brim, which I didn’t do. I just knitted the garter stitch for about 2 inches and then joined in the round, knitting stockinette until it was 5 inches total from the cast on edge. And there was no knot on top of the one in the book, either. So I guess the overall effect of my hat is pretty different from the book version, hehe.

  3. Ruby says:

    Thanks for the info! I will CO this week with your awesome modifications. He is so stinkin’ cute in that hat, seriously! I bet you will get lots of comments from people this winter in regards to the ultra-cuteness factor he will have going on. 😉

Leave a Reply

