Where did November go?

I can’t believe I completely missed November altogether. Oh well, how about a pictorial catch-up post on Thanksgiving?

IMG_5426

ingredients…

IMG_5403

Gingersnap crust (waiting for the pumpkin to go it) and the pecan pie and cranberry sauce.

IMG_5409

Pecan Pie 🙂

IMG_5410

This is a Long Island cheese pumpkin. We had a very hard time finding any kind of pumpkin. Ryan managed to find this one at Whole Foods; it was the last one! It made an amazing pie. (I used this recipe from Alton Brown.)

IMG_5431

Rolls.

IMG_5476

Par-baked rolls waiting for their final bake. Pies and cranberry sauce waiting to be eaten.

IMG_5445

The table setting

(Please excuse the matches, embroidery floss and scissors. We had some last-minute table runner adjustments going on. Also please excuse the bad light. We had a late dinner.)

IMG_5446

And… the TURKEY! I literally had three separate nightmares about ruining the turkey the night before Thanksgiving. It turned out great, though. Very tasty, if I do say so myself. I used this recipe from Bon Appetit: Salt-Roasted Turkey with Lemon and Oregano.

Thanksgiving is always fun for me, but this year was especially exciting because I was hosting! I got to cook most of the food. My in-laws brought some veggies. We had a great time eating and visiting and even got to skype with Ryan’s brother and his wife who just moved to California. Good times. I am so thankful for my family. We get along so well and it’s always a joy to be with them.

How was your Thanksgiving? Did you cook anything daring and delicious?

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in cooking, holidays, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

