ryan’s birthday

Ryan’s birthday was April 9. I felt it was worth mentioning, partially because it’s a big one (29!) and partially because I can’t find my camera charger anywhere and therefore I can’t share anything more recent. Haha. Typical of me, I know.

chocolate stout cake

(chocolate stout cake recipe from king arthur flour)

I made Ryan a chocolate stout cake from this recipe at King Arthur Flour’s website. I knew it would be amazing when the directions said to melt an entire pound (!!) of butter in a saucepan with a generous bottle and a half of stout beer. I used a light and fluffy chocolate cream cheese frosting instead of the frosting called for in the recipe, just because I wanted to balance out the chocolate intensity a bit. Also the calorie content…. even though that was probably a useless cause. (See pound of butter.)

ryan's 29th birthday

Not a very flattering picture of me… but there you go. Ryan looks cute, anyway. Is he whistling?

ryan's 29th birthday (2)

With his wine and cake he’s a happy birthday man. Enjoy the next 329 days of your twenties, Ryan. I love you.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

