Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

I thought I’d give you my spin on pumpkin pie oatmeal. I am a huge fan of pumpkin and autumn in general. (Butternut squash, too. Amazing!) I made up this recipe, but I’m sure there are hundreds just like it if you google it. I’m not claiming this as an original idea or anything…

-Boil four cups of water in a medium saucepan. Add 2 cups of old-fashioned oats and 3/4 tsp. of salt, reduce heat to medium,  and cook for five minutes.
I think this would be a lot better if you used 2 cups of water and 2 cups of milk when cooking the oats. I didn’t because Walter can’t have dairy products, so I can’t say for sure.
-Stir in two beaten eggs while still on the stove. (Pour them in really slowly and beat quickly with a whisk the whole time so they don’t curdle.) Let cook for 2 minutes to make sure the eggs get cooked completely, then add:

1 can of pumpkin puree

2/3 cup of brown sugar

and cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and clove to taste. (Or use pumpkin pie spice)

Cook and stir about 1 minute or until smooth and creamy and hot.
Serve with a little milk or cream on top.

(I bet it would be even better with toasted pecans. I can already tell I’m going to be making this again…)

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: cooking a pumpkin (in the microwave!) | RENOVATA

Leave a Reply

