Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie Bites (Grain-Free!)

These little chocolatey-ball-things are my new favorite treats! They are basically homemade Larabars, but formed into balls. Ryan and I recently completed the 21 Day Sugar Detox and we discovered that we really like eating grain-free and bean/legume-free. I found the recipe for these little goodies while searching for some treats I could make that fit with our new eating patterns. These do have peanut butter in them, but I will NEVER stop eating peanut butter. Also, it doesn’t seem to bother me the way wheat, oatmeal, pinto beans and things like that do.

IMG_9260

I kind of lose all self-control and eat way too many of these whenever they’re around.  (This is a slight modification of  a recipe I found here: http://fitfoodiefinds.com/2012/10/peanut-butter-brownie-balls/)

My version goes like this:

  • 1/2 cup macadamia nuts
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1 tbsp. + 1 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 12 pitted dates
  • 2 tbsp. natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • (optional, I don’t use this) 1 tbsp. honey

Put the dates and nuts into a food processor and process until very finely chopped. You want it to have a grainy, pasty texture; no large chunks. Add remaining ingredients and continue to process until thoroughly combined. Make sure to scrape the bottom of the bowl a few times to make sure everything is incorporated. The texture should be similar to cookie dough. Roll the mixture into balls and chill until firm.

Or just eat tons of it straight from the bowl. No one will know.

IMG_9227

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in cooking, paleo-ish, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

