cooking a pumpkin (in the microwave!)

pumpkin

I was really excited to discover that small pumpkins can be cooked in the microwave! Simply remove the stem, cut the pumpkin in half and scrape out the strings/seeds. Then weigh one of the halves and microwave for 7 minutes per pound.
pumpkin

I microwaved mine with the cut side down so it could steam itself on the inside. (I do this with acorn squash, too.) Let it sit for a minute or so before checking for doneness. It keeps on cooking for a while after you take it out of the microwave. When it’s tender, scoop out the flesh and puree until very smooth.

pumpkin

I’ve used the blender and the food processor and I think the processor does a better job. But a blender works, too. 😉 You really can’t make it too smooth. Lumps are no good.

pumpkin

I got between 1-1/2 and 2 cups of puree from one sugar pie pumpkin. That’s about enough for one pie. If this seems like a lot of work for one pie’s worth of pumpkin puree… maybe you’ve never had a pie made from a fresh pumpkin. Haha.
pumpkin

Or you could always make muffins. Or pancakes. Or pumpkin pie oatmeal.

About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in cooking, fall, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

