Updates of all kinds.

Hi Readers.

A few random updates from the last nine months or so:

  • We sold our house and moved to a much bigger city. You guys, there are TWO yarn stores. In the same town as me. (Go ahead and laugh at me, but I’ve never had my very own Local Yarn Shop and it’s very exciting.) We are still only an hour away from our families, though, so that’s nice.
  • Edda started Kindergarten a few weeks ago (at home.) She’s reading so much better after our summer break!
  • I made myself a blue sweater:bluesweater
  • I finished the sweater a few days ago, actually. So, that’s fairly recent news. Ravelry link here. I really love this sweater. It’s the fourth sweater I’ve made for myself and the first to end up fitting EXACTLY the way I wanted. (Yay!)
  • I googled this for way too long with no luck, so I’ll just mention for the benefit of the whole internet that it is possible to make raw milk yogurt using whey as the starter instead of plain yogurt. I heated about 84 ounces (or) 10-1/2 cups of raw whole milk to 115 degrees and poured in about 4 ounces (or) 1/2 cup of whey to it. The whey was cold, in case that matters… I cultured it in my Eurocuisine yogurt maker (with the extra level attachment) for a really long time. Just kidding… it cultured for around 18 hours. That was probably too long. Three of the jars got all weird and separated into curds; I used them instead of buttermilk to make pancakes. The rest were perfect. Maybe this information will helpful to someone.
  • I’ve got a severe case of knitting fever after hardly knitting at all for the last four months or so. I finished the cardigan on Saturday, a pair of mittens for Walter on Tuesday, and I’m about to finish a hood/hat for Edda today. KNIT ALL THE THINGS!
  • Walter’s mittens (on ravelry): photo-20
  • Edda’s hat-in-progress (on ravelry): photo-21
About Jessi

I'm married. I'm a mom of two. I love dogs and almost all other animals. I like to think about things for a long time. I like all crafts (except scrapbooking. ugh.) I like running. I like cooking and baking. I analyze everything. I stress out too much. I like coffee. I love having a husband that tells me to chill out. I'm thankful for a God that loves me in spite of my many failures.
This entry was posted in cooking, Edda, FO's, homeschooling, knitting, mittens, school, Uncategorized, walter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Updates of all kinds.

  1. beingbodeker says:

    Two LYSs? That would be amazing! But where I live in rural Iowa I suppose it would also be a miracle, lol. Congrats on the move! The mittens are darling.

Leave a Reply

